Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

Club Championship Ruling


Recommended Posts

We're playing in three-some's in round 1. One of my competitors gets a bad break and his tee ball ends up in a deep divot. However, when he takes his stance by positioning the ball back in his stance, his front foot is touching a GUR painted line. I tell him he gets relief. Our other member of the three-some says no, the rule applies when taking your normal stance. Rather than argue, I tell the guy to play it as is, but declare you're going to play a 2nd ball, then we'll get a ruling from our club pro.

 

The guy makes the provisional declaration, then plays the first ball. He manages to reach the front edge of the green about 60 feet from the cup. Playing his provisional ball, he lands it pin high to about 15 feet. He proceeds to drain the 60 footer!! He 2-putts the provisional ball.

 

Our club pro gives the ruling, as I felt he would, relief and 2nd ball counts. Par not birdie. The guy feels he may have been wronged. Anyone want to chime in and explain why the ruling was correct? Or incorrect?

 

Our pro got it right on the money based on what I recall the rule book says...

 

Got to get a new copy of the rules of golf to keep in my golf bag.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 148
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

So the guy (the player who the ruling worked against) thinks he should get to choose which score he takes? Taking a provisional in this instance doesn't give him the right to choose.

Driver #1: Titleist TS3, 8.5°

Driver #2: TaylorMade M3, 10.5°

Fairway: Titleist 917 F2, 16.5°

Utility: Mizuno Pro 225, 16.5°

Irons: MacGregor Tourney Custom International Edition "the 985", 24° - 52°

Sand Wedge: Taylormade MG 1, 56°
Putter: Seemore FGP Bronze, 35"
Ball: Maxfli Tour
Bag: Ping Mascot

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A couple of points - the 2nd ball is not a provisional, it is a second ball played under Rule 3-3. The player does not get a choice of which score to take - he must declare which he wants to score with before he plays either ball. He must report the fact that he played two balls to the Committee before returning his score card. The ruling of the Committee is final.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is kind of a sticky wicket. You really need to study 3-3 and how to correctly play a second ball. Nothing like a provisional. From your text, I am guessing he didn't correctly announce his intentions, see 3-3b ii, the score with the first ball counts. If he made the proper declaration, announced he wanted the second ball to count, then it's a judgement call as to the validity of his stance. If ruled a valid stance for the shot at hand, the second ball would count.

I could be wrong
I've been wrong before
I'll be wrong again
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Picking up the point about his stance, was he positioning the ball back in his stance because that was the way to deal with a shot from divot hole? If so, he would be eligible for relief from the GUR. The other player is wrong to say he had to take his "normal stance." The rule is that you don't get relief if you are adopting an "unreasonably abnormal stance." That is a long way from adapting your "normal stance" to deal with a specific situation like a divot hole, an uphill or downhill lie etc.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='360jive' timestamp='1408750069' post='9990261']
You can always play the ball as it lies except in out of bounds, protected hazards and GUR. He gets the birdie
[/quote]

Did you even read the thread?

Here is a snip of the rule:

[i]"3-3. Doubt as to Procedure
a. Procedure

In stroke play, if a competitor is doubtful of his rights or the correct procedure during the play of a hole, he may, without penalty, complete the hole with two balls.

After the doubtful situation has arisen and before taking further action, [b]the competitor must announce to his marker or fellow-competitor that he intends to play two balls and which ball he wishes to count if the Rules permit.[/b]"[/i]

The rule also states that unless he makes the announcement as in bold above, the score with the original ball counts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

[size=4][b]Note:[/b][color=#000000] If the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. [b]However, the [/b][/color][b][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/color][/b][/size]

I could be wrong
I've been wrong before
I'll be wrong again
Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='kevcarter' timestamp='1408752204' post='9990471']
[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000] If the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. [b]However, the [/b][/color][b][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/color][/b]
[/quote]

Thanks Kev, you responded before I even had a chance to find it in the RoG !

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408752846' post='9990529']
[quote name='kevcarter' timestamp='1408752204' post='9990471']
[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000] If the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. [b]However, the [/b][/color][b][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/color][/b]
[/quote]

Thanks Kev, you responded before I even had a chance to find it in the RoG !
[/quote]

Cheers Brian, I already had the page open from the previous answer. Cheating again, but I enjoy the relaxed rules... :D:drinks:

I could be wrong
I've been wrong before
I'll be wrong again
Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

Hi Brian! You made two questions and Kev already answered one of them. Take a look at 3-3/6.5 Brian:

[quote name='The Rules of Golf']
[b] 3-3/6.5[/b]

[b] Competitor Plays Second Ball Without Announcing Intention to Invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url] and Fails to Report Facts to Committee[/b]

Q.In stroke play, a competitor's ball came to rest on an artificially-surfaced road which had not been declared an integral part of the course. Without announcing his decision to invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url] or the ball with which he would score if the Rules permitted, the competitor dropped and played a second ball in accordance with Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-24/#24-2b"]24-2b[/url]. The competitor then played the original ball as it lay and completed play of the hole with both balls, scoring 4 with the original ball and 5 with the dropped ball.
The competitor returned his score card to the Committee with a score of 4 on the hole in question and failed to report the facts to the Committee.
What is the ruling?
A.Although the competitor did not announce his decision to invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url], [color=#ff0000][b] it is clear from the facts that he intended to invoke such Rule.[/b][/color] As the competitor did not report the facts of the situation to the Committee before returning his score card, he is disqualified under Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3a"]3-3a[/url].
[/quote]

It’s a different situation, but from the answer I would say that, if it’s clear for his acts that he intended to invoke such Rule and he called it a “provisional” instead of “a second ball under Rule 3-3” and he informs the Committee before returning his score, he should be deemed to have played under 3-3.

Clearly, the rest of the procedure for playing a second ball had to be correct (make the announcement before taking any action in regards to the original, saying which one he wants to count in case the Rules permit and inform the Committee timely…)

Have a good night!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Cancun' timestamp='1408754759' post='9990697']

It’s a different situation, but from the answer I would say that, if it’s clear for his acts that he intended to invoke such Rule and he called it a “provisional” instead of “a second ball under Rule 3-3” and he informs the Committee before returning his score, he should be deemed to have played under 3-3.

Clearly, the rest of the procedure for playing a second ball had to be correct (make the announcement before taking any action in regards to the original, saying which one he wants to count in case the Rules permit and inform the Committee timely…)

Have a good night!
[/quote]

Works for me!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Cancun' timestamp='1408754759' post='9990697']
[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

Hi Brian! You made two questions and Kev already answered one of them. Take a look at 3-3/6.5 Brian:

[quote name='The Rules of Golf']
[b] 3-3/6.5[/b]

[b] Competitor Plays Second Ball Without Announcing Intention to Invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url] and Fails to Report Facts to Committee[/b]

Q.In stroke play, a competitor's ball came to rest on an artificially-surfaced road which had not been declared an integral part of the course. Without announcing his decision to invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url] or the ball with which he would score if the Rules permitted, the competitor dropped and played a second ball in accordance with Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-24/#24-2b"]24-2b[/url]. The competitor then played the original ball as it lay and completed play of the hole with both balls, scoring 4 with the original ball and 5 with the dropped ball.
The competitor returned his score card to the Committee with a score of 4 on the hole in question and failed to report the facts to the Committee.
What is the ruling?
A.Although the competitor did not announce his decision to invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url], [color=#ff0000][b] it is clear from the facts that he intended to invoke such Rule.[/b][/color] As the competitor did not report the facts of the situation to the Committee before returning his score card, he is disqualified under Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3a"]3-3a[/url].
[/quote]

It’s a different situation, but from the answer I would say that, if it’s clear for his acts that he intended to invoke such Rule and he called it a “provisional” instead of “a second ball under Rule 3-3” and he informs the Committee before returning his score, he should be deemed to have played under 3-3.

Clearly, the rest of the procedure for playing a second ball had to be correct (make the announcement before taking any action in regards to the original, saying which one he wants to count in case the Rules permit and inform the Committee timely…)

Have a good night!
[/quote]

[s]Based on this decision, it appears my answer in post #4 was incorrect. Thanks for the clarification Cancun![/s]

Kevin

edit: please disregard this post, it confused the issue further

I could be wrong
I've been wrong before
I'll be wrong again
Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='kevcarter' timestamp='1408755937' post='9990781']
Based on this decision, it appears my answer in post #4 was incorrect. Thanks for the clarification Cancun!
Kevin
[/quote]

I think your answer was spot on Kev and R 3-3b clearly supports that. As I see it, the decision I quoted respects that, but gives us a base to say that there is some (little) room for flexibility in what the player says or how the player proceeds (not much really).

In your post you say that the player must announce his intentions [b]and that’s what the Rule says[/b]. As I understand the decision, it seems to show us that the player might, at some degree, “show” his intentions. On the other hand, if a player doesn’t say something, his actions could be less than clear.

He still has to say which ball he wants to count if the Rules permit… so it’s not like he can just “do” without saying… ;).

The best way to be sure is to go by the Rule and make a clear statement!

Have a good weekend my friend!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Cancun' timestamp='1408757129' post='9990897']
[quote name='kevcarter' timestamp='1408755937' post='9990781']
Based on this decision, it appears my answer in post #4 was incorrect. Thanks for the clarification Cancun!
Kevin
[/quote]

I think your answer was spot on Kev and R 3-3b clearly supports that. As I see it, the decision I quoted respects that, but gives us a base to say that there is some (little) room for flexibility in what the player says or how the player proceeds (not much really).

In your post you say that the player must announce his intentions [b]and that’s what the Rule says[/b]. As I understand the decision, it seems to show us that the player might, at some degree, “show” his intentions. On the other hand, if a player doesn’t say something, his actions could be less than clear.

He still has to say which ball he wants to count if the Rules permit… so it’s not like he can just “do” without saying… ;).

The best way to be sure is to go by the Rule and make a clear statement!

Have a good weekend my friend!
[/quote]

Thanks again!

I could be wrong
I've been wrong before
I'll be wrong again
Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='kevcarter' timestamp='1408752204' post='9990471']
[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000] If the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. [b]However, the [/b][/color][b][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/color][/b]
[/quote]

This is why the good people of GolfWRX county want you out there posting!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1408758110' post='9991001']
[quote name='kevcarter' timestamp='1408752204' post='9990471']
[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000] If the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. [b]However, the [/b][/color][b][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/color][/b]
[/quote]

This is why the good people of GolfWRX county want you out there posting!
[/quote]

Opinions vary... LOL

Cheers!

I could be wrong
I've been wrong before
I'll be wrong again
Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Cancun' timestamp='1408754759' post='9990697']
[quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1408751937' post='9990437']
Just curious ...

I suspect both players (OP & the player he's speaking of), didn't know the correct "term" and incorrectly called it a "provisional". Per Kevin's post, is it required that the player use the correct terminology or is it sufficient that after discussion, it was clear he was playing an "alternate" ball (per 3.3(a)), with the expectation that the Committee (Pro) would make a determination after the round?

Additionally, if he didn't make the "proper announcement" and it was ruled his first ball is the one that should have counted, isn't he then penalized for playing the 2nd ball?

Inquiring minds want to know :)
[/quote]

Hi Brian! You made two questions and Kev already answered one of them. Take a look at 3-3/6.5 Brian:

[quote name='The Rules of Golf']
[b] 3-3/6.5[/b]

[b] Competitor Plays Second Ball Without Announcing Intention to Invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url] and Fails to Report Facts to Committee[/b]

Q.In stroke play, a competitor's ball came to rest on an artificially-surfaced road which had not been declared an integral part of the course. Without announcing his decision to invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url] or the ball with which he would score if the Rules permitted, the competitor dropped and played a second ball in accordance with Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-24/#24-2b"]24-2b[/url]. The competitor then played the original ball as it lay and completed play of the hole with both balls, scoring 4 with the original ball and 5 with the dropped ball.
The competitor returned his score card to the Committee with a score of 4 on the hole in question and failed to report the facts to the Committee.
What is the ruling?
A.Although the competitor did not announce his decision to invoke Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url], [color=#ff0000][b] it is clear from the facts that he intended to invoke such Rule.[/b][/color] As the competitor did not report the facts of the situation to the Committee before returning his score card, he is disqualified under Rule [url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3a"]3-3a[/url].
[/quote]

It’s a different situation, but from the answer I would say that, if it’s clear for his acts that he intended to invoke such Rule and he called it a “provisional” instead of “a second ball under Rule 3-3” and he informs the Committee before returning his score, he should be deemed to have played under 3-3.

Clearly, the rest of the procedure for playing a second ball had to be correct (make the announcement before taking any action in regards to the original, saying which one he wants to count in case the Rules permit and inform the Committee timely…)

Have a good night!
[/quote]

You, on the other hand, need no encouragement!

(Though we need your posts.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Cancun' timestamp='1408757129' post='9990897']
[quote name='kevcarter' timestamp='1408755937' post='9990781']
Based on this decision, it appears my answer in post #4 was incorrect. Thanks for the clarification Cancun!
Kevin
[/quote]

I think your answer was spot on Kev and R 3-3b clearly supports that. As I see it, the decision I quoted respects that, but gives us a base to say that there is some (little) room for flexibility in what the player says or how the player proceeds (not much really).

In your post you say that the player must announce his intentions [b]and that’s what the Rule says[/b]. As I understand the decision, it seems to show us that the player might, at some degree, “show” his intentions. On the other hand, if a player doesn’t say something, his actions could be less than clear.

He still has to say which ball he wants to count if the Rules permit… so it’s not like he can just “do” without saying… ;).

The best way to be sure is to go by the Rule and make a clear statement!

Have a good weekend my friend!
[/quote]

Ok, so as I read this you both seem to think that the club pro missed the call on this situation based on the fact that the player did not declare which ball he wished to count.

While I don't necessarily disagree, I see a potential for a real problem with this situation. The player obviously wished to score the second ball originally or he would have never played the second ball - there was absolutely no need to play a second ball if he did not desire it to count.

Thoughts? I know the rule states that a declaration must be made, but this seems to be one of those instances where the rules could allow a player to actually benefit from interpreting a rule incorrectly. Am I misunderstanding?

As I read what is being proposed here a player could benefit from intentionally not declaring which ball he wished to count, therefore making the second ball a moot point if he had a better score on the original ball OR, if his second was better he could hope that the committee missed the fact that he hadn't declared and score that ball instead.

If winning was easy, losers would do it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here's the note from 3-3a:

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000][size=2] If the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/size][/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000][size=2] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. However, the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/size][/color]

I read that as meaning if prior to announcing his intention to play a second ball he drops or hits his original, only the original or dropped ball counts, no penalty. Don't need to consult the committee, because 3-3 was not in play.

But if he first declares his intention to play two balls via 3-3-- and subsequently fails to consult the committee before signing his card -- he is DQed whether or not he stated which ball he hoped would count.

Not sure . . . interested in further responses.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1408759827' post='9991181']
Here's the note from 3-3a:

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000][size=2] If the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/size][/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000][size=2] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. However, the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/size][/color]

I read that as meaning if prior to announcing his intention to play a second ball he drops or hits his original, only the original or dropped ball counts, no penalty. Don't need to consult the committee, because 3-3 was not in play.

But if he first declares his intention to play two balls via 3-3-- and subsequently fails to consult the committee before signing his card -- he is DQed whether or not he stated which ball he hoped would count.

Not sure . . . interested in further responses.
[/quote]

Sawgrass, I know that your rules interpretations are spot on. If you were replying to my post above, I agree with what you say........ except that there is an allowance under another decision that indicates that the committee can "infer" intent to play a second ball even though it was not declared. There is no such decision that I can find that allows this inference for the declaration of which ball he wishes to count - and that, as I now understand it, is my problem with this situation.

If he took further action before declaring to play two balls, which he did, the committee can assume by his actions that he intended to invoke 3-3. Can they do the same assumptions concerning which ball he wished to count? I can't find a specific reference to this.

If winning was easy, losers would do it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1408759827' post='9991181']
Here's the note from 3-3a:

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000][size=2] If the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/size][/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000][size=2] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. However, the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/size][/color]

I read that as meaning if prior to announcing his intention to play a second ball he drops or hits his original, only the original or dropped ball counts, no penalty. Don't need to consult the committee, because 3-3 was not in play.

But if he first declares his intention to play two balls via 3-3-- and subsequently fails to consult the committee before signing his card -- he is DQed whether or not he stated which ball he hoped would count.

Not sure . . . interested in further responses.
[/quote]
Agree.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Hardluckster' timestamp='1408760484' post='9991269']
[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1408759827' post='9991181']
Here's the note from 3-3a:

[b]Note:[/b][color=#000000][size=2] If the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule [/size][/color][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3"]3-3[/url][color=#000000][size=2] is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Rule-Or-Rules"]Rules[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. However, the [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Competitor"]competitor[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any [/size][/color][i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Penalty-Stroke"]penalty strokes[/url][/i][color=#000000][size=2] incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score.[/size][/color]

I read that as meaning if prior to announcing his intention to play a second ball he drops or hits his original, only the original or dropped ball counts, no penalty. Don't need to consult the committee, because 3-3 was not in play.

But if he first declares his intention to play two balls via 3-3-- and subsequently fails to consult the committee before signing his card -- he is DQed whether or not he stated which ball he hoped would count.

Not sure . . . interested in further responses.
[/quote]

Sawgrass, I know that your rules interpretations are spot on. If you were replying to my post above, I agree with what you say........ except that there is an allowance under another decision that indicates that the committee can "infer" intent to play a second ball even though it was not declared. There is no such decision that I can find that allows this inference for the declaration - and that, as I now understand it, is the problem with this situation.

If he took further action before declaring to play two balls, which he did, the committee can assume by his actions that he intended to invoke 3-3. Can they do the same assumptions concerning which ball he wished to count? I can't find a specific reference to this.
[/quote]

IMO. The committee has some leeway to infer that the player intended to play two balls under 3-3 based on conversation or other verbal indications. Simply playing one ball and then playing a different ball does not meet that test.
On the other hand, the requirement for the player to declare which ball he wishes to count is pretty cut and dried. I don't see support for the committee inferring which ball the player wished to count if he did not declare it.

In the case we are talking about, the player is confused between 3-3 and 27-2 but clearly intends to play two balls and let the committee decide. The committee should rule that the player intended to play under 3-3. However, he did not declare which ball he wished to count even though it might be obvious that he would prefer to take relief. The committee should rule that the first ball played counts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

'edwjmcgrath, From reading 3-3/6.5 I seem to disagree about simply playing another ball not meeting the test for applying 3-3. That decision seems to me to suggest that no verbal communication is necessary and allows the committee to make that inference.

IMO, if that inference can be made it seems that there should be (but is not, strictly according to the RoG) a reasonable allowance for the committee to make the assumption concerning which ball the player intended to have counted.

I understand that in this instance the player simply stated the incorrect terminology. Strictly speaking, the pro got it wrong according to the letter of the law. This situation just got me thinking about other possibilities.

Unless I am missing something in the rules, this seems to me to be one of those instances where another decision should be included that would allow for that inference. Either that, or do away with the allowance for the committee to assume the invoking of 3-3 without a declaration.

Of course, this is only my reading of the rules, but I find it interesting that this situation hasn't been addressed by the RoG.

EDIT: After further thought, the allowance for the committee to infer the intent to invoke 3-3 does have the effect of allowing the committee to ignore the penalty for playing a ball that is not in play. Maybe that is the reason for this particular exception?

If winning was easy, losers would do it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

When the rule determines that the first ball should count if the player makes no declaration, it removes all the doubts and problems associated with inferring the players intent.

IMO the intent to play under 3-3 is clearly distinguishable from a practice stroke. Further it is not as critical as the provisional ball declaration.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Hardluckster' timestamp='1408764123' post='9991571']
'edwjmcgrath, From reading 3-3/6.5 I seem to disagree about simply playing another ball not meeting the test for applying 3-3. That decision seems to me to suggest that no verbal communication is necessary and allows the committee to make that inference.

IMO, if that inference can be made it seems that there should be (but is not, strictly according to the RoG) a reasonable allowance for the committee to make the assumption concerning which ball the player intended to have counted.

I understand that in this instance the player simply stated the incorrect terminology. Strictly speaking, the pro got it wrong according to the letter of the law. This situation just got me thinking about other possibilities.

Unless I am missing something in the rules, this seems to me to be one of those instances where another decision should be included that would allow for that inference. Either that, or do away with the allowance for the committee to assume the invoking of 3-3 without a declaration.

Of course, this is only my reading of the rules, but I find it interesting that this situation hasn't been addressed by the RoG.

EDIT: After further thought, the allowance for the committee to infer the intent to invoke 3-3 does have the effect of allowing the committee to ignore the penalty for playing a ball that is not in play. Maybe that is the reason for this particular exception?
[/quote]

IMO, the rules have dealt with it. You must make the declaration, or the first ball will count. I mucked up the issue when I was confused by the purpose of 3-3/6.5, and I believe in the end you got to the correct answer as well. Thanks to Mr Sawgrass, Mr. Cancun, Mr. Newby, and Mr. Mcgrath for cleaning up after me. :D

I could be wrong
I've been wrong before
I'll be wrong again
Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Hardluckster' timestamp='1408764123' post='9991571']
'edwjmcgrath, From reading 3-3/6.5 I seem to disagree about simply playing another ball not meeting the test for applying 3-3. That decision seems to me to suggest that no verbal communication is necessary and allows the committee to make that inference.
[/quote]
You're right that it doesn't require verbal communication, but it does require some clear indication of intent. In 3-3/6.5, the player left his ball in play on the obstruction and played another ball (substitution would not have been allowed by 24-2b). That is enough to show the intent. If however, the player did it in reverse-played the ball off the cart path and then dropped a ball under 24-2b, that would not be clear intent in my mind.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2025 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #1
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #2
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #3
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Chandler Phillips - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Scotty Kennon - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Austin Duncan - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Will Chandler - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kevin Roy - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ben Griffin - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Peter Malnati - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ryan Gerard - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Adam Schenk - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kurt Kitayama - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Camilo Villegas - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matti Schmid - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Denny McCarthy's custom Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Swag Golf putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Karl Vilips TM MG5 wedges - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      New Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matt Fitzpatrick's custom Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 7 replies
    • 2025 3M Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #2
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #3
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #4
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Luke List - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Isaiah Salinda - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Akshay Bhatia - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Kaito Onishi - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Gotterup - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Rickie Fowler - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Seamus Power - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Kirk - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Vince Whaley - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Andrew Putnam - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      David Lipsky - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Thomas Campbell - Minnesota PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Max Herendeen - WITB - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Rickie's custom Joe Powell persimmon driver - 2025 3M Open
      Custom Cameron T-9.5 - 2025 3M Open
      Tom Kim's custom prototype Cameron putter - 2025 3M Open
      New Cameron prototype putters - 2025 3M Open
      Zak Blair's latest Scotty acquisition - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2025 The Open Championship - Discussions and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 The Open Championship - Sunday #1
      2025 The Open Championship – Monday #1
      2025 The Open Championship - Monday #2
      2025 Open Championship – Monday #3
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Cobra's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Srixon's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Scotty Cameron 2025 Open Championship putter covers - 2025 The Open Championship
      TaylorMade's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Shane Lowry - testing a couple of Cameron putters - 2025 The Open Championship
      New Scotty Cameron Phantom Black putters(and new cover & grip) - 2025 The Open Championship
       
       
       




















       
       
       
       
      • 26 replies
    • 2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Monday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #2
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Adrian Otaegui - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Luke Donald - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Haotong Li - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Callum Hill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Johannes Veerman - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dale Whitnell - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Martin Couvra - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Daniel Hillier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Angel Hidalgo Portillo - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Simon Forsstrom - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      J.H. Lee - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marcel Schneider - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ugo Coussaud - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Todd Clements - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Shaun Norris - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marco Penge - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nicolai Von Dellingshausen - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Hong Taek Kim - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Julien Guerrier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Richie Ramsey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Francesco Laporta - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Aaron Cockerill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Sebastian Soderberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Connor Syme - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jeff Winther - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Woo Young Cho - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Bernd Wiesberger - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Andy Sullivan - WITB 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jacques Kruyswijk - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Pablo Larrazabal - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Thriston Lawrence - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Darius Van Driel - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Grant Forrest - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jordan Gumberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nacho Elvira - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Romain Langasque - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dan Bradbury - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Yannik Paul - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ashun Wu - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Alex Del Rey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made gamer - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made putter (back-up??) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      New TaylorMade P-UDI (Stinger Squadron cover) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Rory's custom Joe Powell (Career Slam) persimmon driver & cover - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Tommy Fleetwood's son Mo's TM putter - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Haha
        • Like
      • 20 replies
    • 2025 John Deere Classic - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #1
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Carson Young - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Zac Blair - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Anders Albertson - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Jay Giannetto - Iowa PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      John Pak - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Brendan Valdes - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cristobal del Solar - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Dylan Frittelli - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Justin Lowers new Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Bettinardi new Core Carbon putters - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter covers - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 2 replies

×
×
  • Create New...