Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

Hazard procedures, advanced question


Deuce78

Recommended Posts

I need to find the correct ruling for the following scenario.

 

Ball played over lake to a landing area. Super Large hill backstop. So lake, incline, flat landing zone, large hill incline. Grass is short [no chance ball was lost in rough]. Yellow stakes on front of lake. Red stakes on back of lake. Ball played (4 iron intended to travel 205 yards), ball goes into a tree that the trunk of which is just inside the hazard, but branches of tree over hang the incline outside hazard. Ball seen going well into tree the trailing off to left, but landing area is obstructed an not observed landing. The ball was traveling on a piercing trajectory into the tree and was not descending yet, as the intended yardage was 205 and the tree would have be about 160 out. There was no wood sound from the tree. The ball was not seen by player B after going into tree. Player A thought ball looked to go forwards but tail off left, but landing area obstructed by foliage. Ball not found. Player A contends that ball crossed the plane of red hazard, and likely hit incline beyond hazard and rolled back into hazard. Player B says no evidence of ball crossing hazard and should go back and play from yellow front side. Player A contends that due to the high velocity and flat trajectory, and lack of sound (wood) that the ball must have at least traveled past the hazard, and because no ball was found on the short flat grass, that the ball must have rolled back into the hazard. What is the correct ruling?

 

PING G410 9 Flat(HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5/Ventus Black 7x)
PING G410 14.5 (HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5)
PING G425 LST 14.5 (Speeder Tour Spec 7.2x)

PING G410 17.5 (HZRDUS T1100 85g 6.5)

NIKE Vapor Fly 20* Iron (Modus105x HS)

PING i500 20* iron (DG105x100)

P7TW 3-PW (DGX7)

52 milled grind (DGX7)  / Vokey TVD K 58 (DGX7)
TM Spider Armlock/SIK Armlock

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Player B says no evidence of ball crossing hazard and should go back and play from yellow front side.

 

Just note that this is not the precise remedy for a lost ball. One must go back to where the previous shot was hit, not just the front of the hazard.

 

I don't think the OP considered the possibility of a lost ball outside the hazard and thought he was trying to get a ruling on where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard.

 

 

For the OP.

 

I agree with the others above that it is unlikely that virtual certainty existed that the ball did in fact end up in the hazard and would also rule it as a lost ball (outside the hazard).

 

But if you want, for the sake of what I think you were trying to ask - we can assume for a hypothetical that virtual certainty did exist. In that case, the rules only really tell us that the player must use his/her best judgement in determining where the ball last crossed the hazard margin and is free to proceed based on that judgement w/o fear of a penalty for being wrong. In my mind, that means a judgement based on facts and what you know happened, not supposition about what might have happened. But that last part is just my opinion.

 

 

 

26-1/17

 

Point Where Ball Last Crossed Margin of Lateral Water Hazard Determined and Ball Dropped and Played; Point Then Proves to Be Wrong Point

 

Q.In the circumstances described in Decision 26-1/16, where it becomes known that A's judgment of where his ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard is incorrect, what is the ruling if A, having dropped a ball in the wrong place, plays it before his error is discovered?

 

A.A must continue play with the ball played from the wrong place, without penalty. Applying a penalty under Rule 26-1 for playing from the wrong place (see Rule 20-7) is not appropriate. Otherwise, a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I need to find the correct ruling for the following scenario.

 

Ball played over lake to a landing area. Super Large hill backstop. So lake, incline, flat landing zone, large hill incline. Grass is short [no chance ball was lost in rough]. Yellow stakes on front of lake. Red stakes on back of lake. Ball played (4 iron intended to travel 205 yards), ball goes into a tree that the trunk of which is just inside the hazard, but branches of tree over hang the incline outside hazard. Ball seen going well into tree the trailing off to left, but landing area is obstructed an not observed landing. The ball was traveling on a piercing trajectory into the tree and was not descending yet, as the intended yardage was 205 and the tree would have be about 160 out. There was no wood sound from the tree. The ball was not seen by player B after going into tree. Player A thought ball looked to go forwards but tail off left, but landing area obstructed by foliage. Ball not found. Player A contends that ball crossed the plane of red hazard, and likely hit incline beyond hazard and rolled back into hazard. Player B says no evidence of ball crossing hazard and should go back and play from yellow front side. Player A contends that due to the high velocity and flat trajectory, and lack of sound (wood) that the ball must have at least traveled past the hazard, and because no ball was found on the short flat grass, that the ball must have rolled back into the hazard. What is the correct ruling?

 

 

What's the answer to the question, "Could the ball be anywhere else besides in the hazard?"

Knowledge of the Rules is part of the skill set which a player must have to play competitive golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Seems to me that both players were in agreement that the ball was in the hazard. That’s enough certainty for me.

 

Two players are capable of getting it wrong.

 

Sure. But the OP said both agreed it was in the hazard. They seemed certain enough of that to be arguing over where it crossed. Not if. That sounds like 100% to me.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Seems to me that both players were in agreement that the ball was in the hazard. That’s enough certainty for me.

 

Two players are capable of getting it wrong.

What "facts" are these players using to determine virtual certainty? Lost ball, go back to original spot.

 

The fact that they are the ones there assessing the situation. They are privy to more “facts” than anyone here trying to make the decision.

 

Two out of two players both saying the ball is in the hazard. That’s 100% of the people involved. Seems to satisfy the 95% criteria to me.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

I’ve discussed this (probably too much), KVC in the past. I realize my view differs from most of the rules experts (and I don’t mean that term in the derogatory way it’s used here too often) and people who officiate.

 

But I still don’t like the rule. How often can you ever be 100% (or even 95%) of where a ball ends up. I can see a ball splash near the far side of a lake that has a brush on the other side. Who knows if it skipped out or not? Almost every ball that travels any considerable distance towards a hazard brings some level of question into it.

 

A little common sense factored into making a best judgement seems reasonable.

 

OP explained the landing area as a place unlikely for a ball to be lost.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Seems to me that both players were in agreement that the ball was in the hazard. That's enough certainty for me.

 

Two players are capable of getting it wrong.

 

Sure. But the OP said both agreed it was in the hazard. They seemed certain enough of that to be arguing over where it crossed. Not if. That sounds like 100% to me.

 

I see where the misunderstanding lies. Both people in a group of two agreeing something means that 100% of the group agree. That does not mean that the facts of matter add up to 95% certainty that they were right.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Seems to me that both players were in agreement that the ball was in the hazard. That’s enough certainty for me.

 

Two players are capable of getting it wrong.

 

Sure. But the OP said both agreed it was in the hazard. They seemed certain enough of that to be arguing over where it crossed. Not if. That sounds like 100% to me.

Neither player heard it hit wood (tree branch) and no one saw it roll back into the hazard. The argument seems to be which side of the lake the player should drop. Considering the op started the ball would have flown 205, just 160 carry, and no ball was seen rolling back into the hazard not heard striking the tree the odds are most likely the ball is well beyond the hazard and not found.

This, as almost all have said, it is considered lost-not in the hazard.

 

Side note. Any club I have every played that would have a hole designed and maintained as described there would be a revolt of membership. A shot that would roll back with enough speed 50 yards down a hill and back into water? A majority of the membership would have no way to play the hole as they could not reach the flat area. At the very least the grass would need to be cut in a way to prevent such an occurrence.

Wilson Dynapwr LS/Carbon 9° Graphite Design AD TP 5s/AD VF 5s

Wilson Dynapwr 3+ Graphite Design AD TP6s

Wilson Dynapwr 19° , 22° & 25° Aerotech Steelfiber 75 fc s

Wilson 6 Dynapower forged/ 7-P Staff CB all Nippon Pro Modus 115s

Wilson RAW ZM forged 50°/08–54°/08–58°/06 DG 115 Mids

MannKrafted Custom MA-55

 



 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I’m going to apologize here and chastise myself for not going back and reading it a second time before posting.

 

Upon rereading it,,I see the mention of foliage in the landing area. I must have just skimmed over that part when recalling him talking about no rough formthe ball to be lost it. It does sound like there were areas where the ball could have been lost. At least enough to create uncertainty.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Seems to me that both players were in agreement that the ball was in the hazard. That's enough certainty for me.

 

Two players are capable of getting it wrong.

 

Sure. But the OP said both agreed it was in the hazard. They seemed certain enough of that to be arguing over where it crossed. Not if. That sounds like 100% to me.

 

I see where the misunderstanding lies. Both people in a group of two agreeing something means that 100% of the group agree. That does not mean that the facts of matter add up to 95% certainty that they were right.

 

So, in a tournament sertting, but no official to make a ruling on the spot. At this point doesn’t to boil down to them deciding where it crossed (because, either right or wrong, they have determined it is in the hazard). That call is a judgment call by the player correct (per Stuart). So A plays it across the lake (red stakes), B protests he plays from wrong spot. Does he get DQ’ed after the fact for not playing it has a lost ball?


Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, in a tournament sertting, but no official to make a ruling on the spot. At this point doesn’t to boil down to them deciding where it crossed (because, either right or wrong, they have determined it is in the hazard). That call is a judgment call by the player correct (per Stuart). So A plays it across the lake (red stakes), B protests he plays from wrong spot. Does he get DQ’ed after the fact for not playing it has a lost ball?

 

Keep in mind that stroke play and match play are quite a bit different. For match play - worst case would be loss of hole for playing from the wrong place - and there are a few important conditionals for that to happen.

 

For stroke play it could possibly be a DQ IF the rules official or committee member that reviewed the claim made the determination that both KVC did not exist AND it was determined that the location where the drop was made was a serious breach of playing from the wrong place. If the drop was made at the red boundaries, that's highly likely. If it was made at the yellow boundary, it's possible that the player might just get away with a 2 stroke penalty for playing from the wrong location. But it's completely up to the committee to make that determination of a serious breach and therefore a DQ.

 

Now in stroke play, if they had considered the possibility of it being lost outside the hazard - they could play 2 balls under rule 3-3 and let the committee make the KVC determination after the fact (and avoid any other penalties).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Upon rereading it,,I see the mention of foliage in the landing area. I must have just skimmed over that part when recalling him talking about no rough formthe ball to be lost it. It does sound like there were areas where the ball could have been lost. At least enough to create uncertainty.

 

I thought of that as well - but on reflection wasn't sure if he was referring to foliage on the ground - or just the foliage in the trees.

 

Even if the later, I still think there is plenty of room for uncertainty. If nothing else, the fact that they don't have a clear understanding of where it might have entered the hazard is enough (for me) to doubt if it in fact actually did enter the hazard at all.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

During play, there was a thorough search done of the landing area and area around the tree and hazard.

 

It was concluded by the players the ball had to have entered the hazard. Player A based on what he saw the ball do once it hit the tree, change of direction down to left, concluded that it would have hit the side hill and rolled into the hazard somewhere near the center line of tree, since tree was struck on right side. Player A observed the tree on right side had limbs that were over beyond the hazard line, in the safe zone. Player A contends that simple physics, velocity of ball, where it entered tree and did not bounce back or make noise would put the ball into the tree and therefore crossed the plane.

 

Player B says he couldn't agree that ball for sure crossed red line. Said to go back.

 

Does ball have to break plane of red stakes? Or does it have to hit the ground? In this case if the ball broke the plane of red stakes and bounced back in the hazard is there relief on the red side?

 

Any other questions?

 

 

 

 

PING G410 9 Flat(HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5/Ventus Black 7x)
PING G410 14.5 (HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5)
PING G425 LST 14.5 (Speeder Tour Spec 7.2x)

PING G410 17.5 (HZRDUS T1100 85g 6.5)

NIKE Vapor Fly 20* Iron (Modus105x HS)

PING i500 20* iron (DG105x100)

P7TW 3-PW (DGX7)

52 milled grind (DGX7)  / Vokey TVD K 58 (DGX7)
TM Spider Armlock/SIK Armlock

Link to comment
Share on other sites

During play, there was a thorough search done of the landing area and area around the tree and hazard.

 

It was concluded by the players the ball had to have entered the hazard. Player A based on what he saw the ball do once it hit the tree, change of direction down to left, concluded that it would have hit the side hill and rolled into the hazard somewhere near the center line of tree, since tree was struck on right side. Player A observed the tree on right side had limbs that were over beyond the hazard line, in the safe zone. Player A contends that simple physics, velocity of ball, where it entered tree and did not bounce back or make noise would put the ball into the tree and therefore crossed the plane.

 

Player B says he couldn't agree that ball for sure crossed red line. Said to go back.

 

Does ball have to break plane of red stakes? Or does it have to hit the ground? In this case if the ball broke the plane of red stakes and bounced back in the hazard is there relief on the red side?

 

Any other questions?

The margin of a water hazard extends vertically upward (and downward). Is there part of the tree which resides outside the margin, and is it possible that the ball stayed in the tree outside the margin?

 

Beyond that, if the ball was virtually certain to end up in the hazard, the last margin it crossed determines whether "red relief" is possible.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

During play, there was a thorough search done of the landing area and area around the tree and hazard.

 

It was concluded by the players the ball had to have entered the hazard. Player A based on what he saw the ball do once it hit the tree, change of direction down to left, concluded that it would have hit the side hill and rolled into the hazard somewhere near the center line of tree, since tree was struck on right side. Player A observed the tree on right side had limbs that were over beyond the hazard line, in the safe zone. Player A contends that simple physics, velocity of ball, where it entered tree and did not bounce back or make noise would put the ball into the tree and therefore crossed the plane.

 

Player B says he couldn't agree that ball for sure crossed red line. Said to go back.

 

Does ball have to break plane of red stakes? Or does it have to hit the ground? In this case if the ball broke the plane of red stakes and bounced back in the hazard is there relief on the red side?

 

Any other questions?

By landing area do you mean the hilltop and all areas it could have gone if it went cleanly through the tree?

I'm still coming to grips with two phrases from you.

In this most recent post you're not certain it even cleared the hazard and in the first post it was well on its way 45+ yards past the hazard.

Wilson Dynapwr LS/Carbon 9° Graphite Design AD TP 5s/AD VF 5s

Wilson Dynapwr 3+ Graphite Design AD TP6s

Wilson Dynapwr 19° , 22° & 25° Aerotech Steelfiber 75 fc s

Wilson 6 Dynapower forged/ 7-P Staff CB all Nippon Pro Modus 115s

Wilson RAW ZM forged 50°/08–54°/08–58°/06 DG 115 Mids

MannKrafted Custom MA-55

 



 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

During play, there was a thorough search done of the landing area and area around the tree and hazard.

 

It was concluded by the players the ball had to have entered the hazard. Player A based on what he saw the ball do once it hit the tree, change of direction down to left, concluded that it would have hit the side hill and rolled into the hazard somewhere near the center line of tree, since tree was struck on right side. Player A observed the tree on right side had limbs that were over beyond the hazard line, in the safe zone. Player A contends that simple physics, velocity of ball, where it entered tree and did not bounce back or make noise would put the ball into the tree and therefore crossed the plane.

 

Player B says he couldn't agree that ball for sure crossed red line. Said to go back.

 

Does ball have to break plane of red stakes? Or does it have to hit the ground? In this case if the ball broke the plane of red stakes and bounced back in the hazard is there relief on the red side?

 

Any other questions?

The margin of a water hazard extends vertically upward (and downward). Is there part of the tree which resides outside the margin, and is it possible that the ball stayed in the tree outside the margin?

 

Beyond that, if the ball was virtually certain to end up in the hazard, the last margin it crossed determines whether "red relief" is possible.

Yes, back 40 percent of tree branches are outside hazard plane. No chance ball stayed in tree based on how it was falling and traveling once it changed direction. I was expecting to see ball just behind the tree in play.

PING G410 9 Flat(HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5/Ventus Black 7x)
PING G410 14.5 (HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5)
PING G425 LST 14.5 (Speeder Tour Spec 7.2x)

PING G410 17.5 (HZRDUS T1100 85g 6.5)

NIKE Vapor Fly 20* Iron (Modus105x HS)

PING i500 20* iron (DG105x100)

P7TW 3-PW (DGX7)

52 milled grind (DGX7)  / Vokey TVD K 58 (DGX7)
TM Spider Armlock/SIK Armlock

Link to comment
Share on other sites

During play, there was a thorough search done of the landing area and area around the tree and hazard.

 

It was concluded by the players the ball had to have entered the hazard. Player A based on what he saw the ball do once it hit the tree, change of direction down to left, concluded that it would have hit the side hill and rolled into the hazard somewhere near the center line of tree, since tree was struck on right side. Player A observed the tree on right side had limbs that were over beyond the hazard line, in the safe zone. Player A contends that simple physics, velocity of ball, where it entered tree and did not bounce back or make noise would put the ball into the tree and therefore crossed the plane.

 

Player B says he couldn't agree that ball for sure crossed red line. Said to go back.

 

Does ball have to break plane of red stakes? Or does it have to hit the ground? In this case if the ball broke the plane of red stakes and bounced back in the hazard is there relief on the red side?

 

Any other questions?

By landing area do you mean the hilltop and all areas it could have gone if it went cleanly through the tree?

I'm still coming to grips with two phrases from you.

In this most recent post you're not certain it even cleared the hazard and in the first post it was well on its way 45+ yards past the hazard.

Yes landing area meaning short grass and would be in play. Player A is sure the ball went beyond the hazard based on the speed of shot, the depth it went into the tree before change in direction, the lack of any hard contact sound, the flat angle of decent until change of direction.

 

Player B says that absence of him seeing the ball with 20/20 vision drop on the ground, and roll down into the hazard, then he cant say it crossed the red plane.

 

But again what is the definition of virtually certain? If the ball was not in play, in this situation, it is in the hazard. Factor in the known information about the shot, geometry, logic, physics, and player A can be virtually certain ball crossed the red plane.

PING G410 9 Flat(HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5/Ventus Black 7x)
PING G410 14.5 (HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5)
PING G425 LST 14.5 (Speeder Tour Spec 7.2x)

PING G410 17.5 (HZRDUS T1100 85g 6.5)

NIKE Vapor Fly 20* Iron (Modus105x HS)

PING i500 20* iron (DG105x100)

P7TW 3-PW (DGX7)

52 milled grind (DGX7)  / Vokey TVD K 58 (DGX7)
TM Spider Armlock/SIK Armlock

Link to comment
Share on other sites

During play, there was a thorough search done of the landing area and area around the tree and hazard.

 

It was concluded by the players the ball had to have entered the hazard. Player A based on what he saw the ball do once it hit the tree, change of direction down to left, concluded that it would have hit the side hill and rolled into the hazard somewhere near the center line of tree, since tree was struck on right side. Player A observed the tree on right side had limbs that were over beyond the hazard line, in the safe zone. Player A contends that simple physics, velocity of ball, where it entered tree and did not bounce back or make noise would put the ball into the tree and therefore crossed the plane.

 

Player B says he couldn't agree that ball for sure crossed red line. Said to go back.

 

Does ball have to break plane of red stakes? Or does it have to hit the ground? In this case if the ball broke the plane of red stakes and bounced back in the hazard is there relief on the red side?

 

Any other questions?

By landing area do you mean the hilltop and all areas it could have gone if it went cleanly through the tree?

I'm still coming to grips with two phrases from you.

In this most recent post you're not certain it even cleared the hazard and in the first post it was well on its way 45+ yards past the hazard.

Yes landing area meaning short grass and would be in play. Player A is sure the ball went beyond the hazard based on the speed of shot, the depth it went into the tree before change in direction, the lack of any hard contact sound, the flat angle of decent until change of direction.

 

Player B says that absence of him seeing the ball with 20/20 vision drop on the ground, and roll down into the hazard, then he cant say it crossed the red plane.

 

But again what is the definition of virtually certain? If the ball was not in play, in this situation, it is in the hazard. Factor in the known information about the shot, geometry, logic, physics, and player A can be virtually certain ball crossed the red plane.

The shot was well struck meaning it was expected to carry the 40 yard hill that feeds balls to the water. Was that large top of the hill area checked as well?

Wilson Dynapwr LS/Carbon 9° Graphite Design AD TP 5s/AD VF 5s

Wilson Dynapwr 3+ Graphite Design AD TP6s

Wilson Dynapwr 19° , 22° & 25° Aerotech Steelfiber 75 fc s

Wilson 6 Dynapower forged/ 7-P Staff CB all Nippon Pro Modus 115s

Wilson RAW ZM forged 50°/08–54°/08–58°/06 DG 115 Mids

MannKrafted Custom MA-55

 



 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

During play, there was a thorough search done of the landing area and area around the tree and hazard.

 

It was concluded by the players the ball had to have entered the hazard. Player A based on what he saw the ball do once it hit the tree, change of direction down to left, concluded that it would have hit the side hill and rolled into the hazard somewhere near the center line of tree, since tree was struck on right side. Player A observed the tree on right side had limbs that were over beyond the hazard line, in the safe zone. Player A contends that simple physics, velocity of ball, where it entered tree and did not bounce back or make noise would put the ball into the tree and therefore crossed the plane.

 

Player B says he couldn't agree that ball for sure crossed red line. Said to go back.

 

Does ball have to break plane of red stakes? Or does it have to hit the ground? In this case if the ball broke the plane of red stakes and bounced back in the hazard is there relief on the red side?

 

Any other questions?

By landing area do you mean the hilltop and all areas it could have gone if it went cleanly through the tree?

I'm still coming to grips with two phrases from you.

In this most recent post you're not certain it even cleared the hazard and in the first post it was well on its way 45+ yards past the hazard.

Yes landing area meaning short grass and would be in play. Player A is sure the ball went beyond the hazard based on the speed of shot, the depth it went into the tree before change in direction, the lack of any hard contact sound, the flat angle of decent until change of direction.

 

Player B says that absence of him seeing the ball with 20/20 vision drop on the ground, and roll down into the hazard, then he cant say it crossed the red plane.

 

But again what is the definition of virtually certain? If the ball was not in play, in this situation, it is in the hazard. Factor in the known information about the shot, geometry, logic, physics, and player A can be virtually certain ball crossed the red plane.

The shot was well struck meaning it was expected to carry the 40 yard hill that feeds balls to the water. Was that large top of the hill area checked as well?

Yes but the landing area that is flat before the backstop is about 60 yards wide. So it goes lake, like a 15 yard hill, flat 60 yards, hill 40 yards.

PING G410 9 Flat(HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5/Ventus Black 7x)
PING G410 14.5 (HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5)
PING G425 LST 14.5 (Speeder Tour Spec 7.2x)

PING G410 17.5 (HZRDUS T1100 85g 6.5)

NIKE Vapor Fly 20* Iron (Modus105x HS)

PING i500 20* iron (DG105x100)

P7TW 3-PW (DGX7)

52 milled grind (DGX7)  / Vokey TVD K 58 (DGX7)
TM Spider Armlock/SIK Armlock

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Player B wants to know where in the rules it says hazard lines are planes? If the ball never touches the ground across the red line, but hits a tree limb outside/beyond the hazard and then goes backward into the hazard, it never touched ground past the red stakes, but it broke the plane twice...

PING G410 9 Flat(HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5/Ventus Black 7x)
PING G410 14.5 (HZRDUS T1100 75g 6.5)
PING G425 LST 14.5 (Speeder Tour Spec 7.2x)

PING G410 17.5 (HZRDUS T1100 85g 6.5)

NIKE Vapor Fly 20* Iron (Modus105x HS)

PING i500 20* iron (DG105x100)

P7TW 3-PW (DGX7)

52 milled grind (DGX7)  / Vokey TVD K 58 (DGX7)
TM Spider Armlock/SIK Armlock

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Player B wants to know where in the rules it says hazard lines are planes? If the ball never touches the ground across the red line, but hits a tree limb outside/beyond the hazard and then goes backward into the hazard, it never touched ground past the red stakes, but it broke the plane twice...

 

Sawgrass was referring to the definition for “water hazard” where it says the margin extends vertically upward and downward.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Player B wants to know where in the rules it says hazard lines are planes? If the ball never touches the ground across the red line, but hits a tree limb outside/beyond the hazard and then goes backward into the hazard, it never touched ground past the red stakes, but it broke the plane twice...

If it flew the hazard but hit the tree and bounced back into the hazard the drop would be on the far side of the hazard. Red staked side nearest green.

 

But I fail to see how anyone could possibly claim KVC of the occurrence without seeing or hearing the ball bounce back or off the tree.

Wilson Dynapwr LS/Carbon 9° Graphite Design AD TP 5s/AD VF 5s

Wilson Dynapwr 3+ Graphite Design AD TP6s

Wilson Dynapwr 19° , 22° & 25° Aerotech Steelfiber 75 fc s

Wilson 6 Dynapower forged/ 7-P Staff CB all Nippon Pro Modus 115s

Wilson RAW ZM forged 50°/08–54°/08–58°/06 DG 115 Mids

MannKrafted Custom MA-55

 



 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2025 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #1
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #2
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #3
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Chandler Phillips - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Scotty Kennon - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Austin Duncan - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Will Chandler - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kevin Roy - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ben Griffin - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Peter Malnati - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ryan Gerard - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Adam Schenk - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kurt Kitayama - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Camilo Villegas - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matti Schmid - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Denny McCarthy's custom Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Swag Golf putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Karl Vilips TM MG5 wedges - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      New Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matt Fitzpatrick's custom Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 7 replies
    • 2025 3M Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #2
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #3
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #4
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Luke List - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Isaiah Salinda - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Akshay Bhatia - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Kaito Onishi - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Gotterup - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Rickie Fowler - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Seamus Power - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Kirk - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Vince Whaley - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Andrew Putnam - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      David Lipsky - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Thomas Campbell - Minnesota PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Max Herendeen - WITB - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Rickie's custom Joe Powell persimmon driver - 2025 3M Open
      Custom Cameron T-9.5 - 2025 3M Open
      Tom Kim's custom prototype Cameron putter - 2025 3M Open
      New Cameron prototype putters - 2025 3M Open
      Zak Blair's latest Scotty acquisition - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2025 The Open Championship - Discussions and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 The Open Championship - Sunday #1
      2025 The Open Championship – Monday #1
      2025 The Open Championship - Monday #2
      2025 Open Championship – Monday #3
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Cobra's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Srixon's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Scotty Cameron 2025 Open Championship putter covers - 2025 The Open Championship
      TaylorMade's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Shane Lowry - testing a couple of Cameron putters - 2025 The Open Championship
      New Scotty Cameron Phantom Black putters(and new cover & grip) - 2025 The Open Championship
       
       
       




















       
       
       
       
      • 26 replies
    • 2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Monday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #2
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Adrian Otaegui - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Luke Donald - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Haotong Li - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Callum Hill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Johannes Veerman - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dale Whitnell - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Martin Couvra - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Daniel Hillier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Angel Hidalgo Portillo - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Simon Forsstrom - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      J.H. Lee - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marcel Schneider - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ugo Coussaud - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Todd Clements - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Shaun Norris - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marco Penge - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nicolai Von Dellingshausen - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Hong Taek Kim - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Julien Guerrier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Richie Ramsey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Francesco Laporta - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Aaron Cockerill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Sebastian Soderberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Connor Syme - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jeff Winther - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Woo Young Cho - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Bernd Wiesberger - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Andy Sullivan - WITB 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jacques Kruyswijk - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Pablo Larrazabal - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Thriston Lawrence - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Darius Van Driel - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Grant Forrest - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jordan Gumberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nacho Elvira - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Romain Langasque - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dan Bradbury - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Yannik Paul - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ashun Wu - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Alex Del Rey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made gamer - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made putter (back-up??) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      New TaylorMade P-UDI (Stinger Squadron cover) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Rory's custom Joe Powell (Career Slam) persimmon driver & cover - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Tommy Fleetwood's son Mo's TM putter - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 20 replies
    • 2025 John Deere Classic - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #1
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Carson Young - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Zac Blair - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Anders Albertson - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Jay Giannetto - Iowa PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      John Pak - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Brendan Valdes - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cristobal del Solar - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Dylan Frittelli - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Justin Lowers new Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Bettinardi new Core Carbon putters - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter covers - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 2 replies

×
×
  • Create New...