Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

Varner ruling.


Recommended Posts

Opinions on this article

 

https://www.golfdigest.com/story/players-championship-2019-harold-varner-iii-gets-unusual-two-stroke-penalty-for-assembling-a-club-on-the-course/amp

 

They seem to focus on the assembly of the club happening on course not the carrying of it. And it pretty clearly states that Varner didn’t know the scorer had picked it up until they got the head to assemble it.

 

 

Starting to smell a touch no ?

 

They say due to 4.1-b. Then that sends to (4). Which states that the club can’t be built from parts carried by anyone FOR the player. To me that implies at the players behest. If the player doesn’t know than it cannot be FOR the player.

 

Someone need to text Harold and tell him to appeal this if he didn’t know the shaft was being carried.

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Opinions on this article

 

https://www.golfdigest.com/story/players-championship-2019-harold-varner-iii-gets-unusual-two-stroke-penalty-for-assembling-a-club-on-the-course/amp

 

They seem to focus on the assembly of the club happening on course not the carrying of it. And it pretty clearly states that Varner didn’t know the scorer had picked it up until they got the head to assemble it.

 

 

Starting to smell a touch no ?

 

They say due to 4.1-b. Then that sends to (4). Which states that the club can’t be built from parts carried by anyone FOR the player. To me that implies at the players behest. If the player doesn’t know than it cannot be FOR the player.

 

Someone need to text Harold and tell him to appeal this if he didn’t know the shaft was being carried.

 

Hmm, isn’t it to bad no one questioned whether he knew or not isn’t it.......

 

(Yes, I’m still harboring a grudge from last night?)


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sawgrass – I agree it is deep in the weeds but. Isn't it a possible scenario that was described in this incident? As in I'm still not sure that this player knew that the shaft was being carried around . Iunderstood initially that he had laid it on the Teebox and that it was picked up by the scorer? All questions not statements if that is now proven incorrect I'm all ears.

 

Can the shaft be carried FOR the player if the player doesn't know it? Honest question. Not trying to be argumentative.

 

I think the answer to TP's and bh's question is Occam's Razor, or, why ELSE would the scorer have been carrying the shaft if not "FOR" the player ? Was he/she going to keep it as a souvenir ? Use it for their own alignment rod ?

 

In the absence of any other explanation the most obvious one is he/she was carrying it "for the player". Whether the player knew it or not.

 

Having said all this couldn't the Tour rescind the penalty ? They did it for McCarthy (before the clarification - or was it in concert with the clarification ?).

 

Heck, even ol' Beannie claimed "Force majeure". :cheesy:

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wow. I finally see a small blue button that says settings.

 

And changed it. And poof. 2 more options appear.

 

Why on earth would they make an app with the default setting being " cliffs notes " of the rules ??!!!

 

No wonder I can't fnd anything. What circumstance would anyone want a snippet of the rule ?

 

You seem to be in a spirit of complaining over just about anything, aren't you?

 

Not really. I've been reading that app for 4 weeks now. And had no clue it was in " half a** " mode. I simply asked what the purpose of that mode was. To confuse ?

 

I'm fully admitted to struggling to understand the many nooks and crannies of the rules. But I'm not illiterate. In fact I'm fluent in 2 languages, and yet I admit I have issues with text based learning. I don't often see obvious things. It's not from lack of trying. So I tried to simplify by downloading the rules to my phone. For reading and studying anytime. Vs googling and not knowing if I m reading it all or someone's interpretation etc

 

My friend, you yourself say you "don't often see obvious things". Since this is the case, when you try to argue discuss these things, perhaps it would be prudent for you to look into them a bit more before "discussing" ?

 

Have you looked at the USGA Rules site on a laptop or desktop ? At the top of every(?) page there are 3 tabs, "Player's Edition", "Full Rules", and "Interpretations".

 

I don't use my phone very much for the internet so I have a very limited "data" plan but just now, being at home and able to use my wi-fi, I fired up the USGA app.

 

On the very first page it says "Player's Edition" on top and below says "Full Rules" and below that says "Official Guide".

 

Forgetting that for the moment and assuming you're in a hurry (or it now opens right TO Player's Edition - don't know), wouldn't the PHRASE "Player's Edition" trigger your thinking to "there MUST be some OTHER "edition"" ? And wouldn't you, at some point, try to find out what this "other" edition actually is ?

 

The screenshots you yourself posted has,

 

{banner saying "Full Rules} For more information on sharing, adding or replacing clubs, including a limited exception for when you did not cause the damage.

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the artice is correct in Varner knowing the scorer had the shaft, I have no issues with him being penalized. I do have issues with how the rules official explains the situation and what action actually caused the penalty shots.

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: RTX ZipCore - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sawgrass – I agree it is deep in the weeds but. Isn't it a possible scenario that was described in this incident? As in I'm still not sure that this player knew that the shaft was being carried around . Iunderstood initially that he had laid it on the Teebox and that it was picked up by the scorer? All questions not statements if that is now proven incorrect I'm all ears.

 

Can the shaft be carried FOR the player if the player doesn't know it? Honest question. Not trying to be argumentative.

 

I think the answer to TP's and bh's question is Occam's Razor, or, why ELSE would the scorer have been carrying the shaft if not "FOR" the player ? Was he/she going to keep it as a souvenir ? Use it for their own alignment rod ?

 

In the absence of any other explanation the most obvious one is he/she was carrying it "for the player". Whether the player knew it or not.

 

Having said all this couldn't the Tour rescind the penalty ? They did it for McCarthy (before the clarification - or was it in concert with the clarification ?).

 

Heck, even ol' Beannie claimed "Force majeure". :cheesy:

How can you penalize the player because of the "intent" of a non-participant?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Opinions on this article

 

https://www.golfdige...-the-course/amp

 

They seem to focus on the assembly of the club happening on course not the carrying of it. And it pretty clearly states that Varner didn't know the scorer had picked it up until they got the head to assemble it.

 

 

Starting to smell a touch no ?

 

They say due to 4.1-b. Then that sends to (4). Which states that the club can't be built from parts carried by anyone FOR the player. To me that implies at the players behest. If the player doesn't know than it cannot be FOR the player.

 

Someone need to text Harold and tell him to appeal this if he didn't know the shaft was being carried.

 

Maybe the words, "a player must not build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round," is more restrictive than I (and others) thought. Taken literally, it could mean that it doesn't matter who is carrying the parts (the player, caddie, an agent)...the club cannot be built on the course. It would also mean that scorer's carrying of the shaft was irrelevant regarding the rules breach, except for the fact that it prevented the agent from putting together the club off the course.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sawgrass – I agree it is deep in the weeds but. Isn't it a possible scenario that was described in this incident? As in I'm still not sure that this player knew that the shaft was being carried around . Iunderstood initially that he had laid it on the Teebox and that it was picked up by the scorer? All questions not statements if that is now proven incorrect I'm all ears.

 

Can the shaft be carried FOR the player if the player doesn't know it? Honest question. Not trying to be argumentative.

 

I think the answer to TP's and bh's question is Occam's Razor, or, why ELSE would the scorer have been carrying the shaft if not "FOR" the player ? Was he/she going to keep it as a souvenir ? Use it for their own alignment rod ?

 

In the absence of any other explanation the most obvious one is he/she was carrying it "for the player". Whether the player knew it or not.

 

Having said all this couldn't the Tour rescind the penalty ? They did it for McCarthy (before the clarification - or was it in concert with the clarification ?).

 

Heck, even ol' Beannie claimed "Force majeure". :cheesy:

How can you penalize the player because of the "intent" of a non-participant?

 

I get what you're saying and as I alluded to I think it's unfair and the penalty should be rescinded and the Rule clarified.

 

But by Rule the club WAS being carried FOR the player even without his knowledge (assumption). And that WAS what you and bh were asking. :dntknw:

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Opinions on this article

 

https://www.golfdigest.com/story/players-championship-2019-harold-varner-iii-gets-unusual-two-stroke-penalty-for-assembling-a-club-on-the-course/amp

 

They seem to focus on the assembly of the club happening on course not the carrying of it. And it pretty clearly states that Varner didn’t know the scorer had picked it up until they got the head to assemble it.

 

 

Starting to smell a touch no ?

 

They say due to 4.1-b. Then that sends to (4). Which states that the club can’t be built from parts carried by anyone FOR the player. To me that implies at the players behest. If the player doesn’t know than it cannot be FOR the player.

 

Someone need to text Harold and tell him to appeal this if he didn’t know the shaft was being carried.

 

Hmm, isn’t it to bad no one questioned whether he knew or not isn’t it.......

 

(Yes, I’m still harboring a grudge from last night?)

 

Lol. Yea. Totally a shame. Wow

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I’m a betting man. ( I’m not ). But let’s say yes. And I’ve bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I’m “ carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it “. Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

 

 

Ignore the Augusta cell phone policy etc as this example will work with any tournament.

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Opinions on this article

 

https://www.golfdige...-the-course/amp

 

They seem to focus on the assembly of the club happening on course not the carrying of it. And it pretty clearly states that Varner didn't know the scorer had picked it up until they got the head to assemble it.

 

 

Starting to smell a touch no ?

 

They say due to 4.1-b. Then that sends to (4). Which states that the club can't be built from parts carried by anyone FOR the player. To me that implies at the players behest. If the player doesn't know than it cannot be FOR the player.

 

Someone need to text Harold and tell him to appeal this if he didn't know the shaft was being carried.

 

Maybe the words, "a player must not build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round," is more restrictive than I (and others) thought. Taken literally, it could mean that it doesn't matter who is carrying the parts (the player, caddie, an agent)...the club cannot be built on the course. It would also mean that scorer's carrying of the shaft was irrelevant regarding the rules breach, except for the fact that it prevented the agent from putting together the club off the course.

 

That I could buy. But that’s not the reasoning or part of the rule given by the officials.

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

 

 

Ignore the Augusta cell phone policy etc as this example will work with any tournament.

Not unless he tried to use it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the artice is correct in Varner knowing the scorer had the shaft, I have no issues with him being penalized. I do have issues with how the rules official explains the situation and what action actually caused the penalty shots.

I read it to say that he knew when he saw them assembled it and that’s why the penalty is issued for that hole. Otherwise if he knows the whole time why isn’t it a max 4 shot penalty for more than 2 holes ? Or possible DQ ?

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That I could buy. But that's not the reasoning or part of the rule given by the officials.

 

That's exactly the reasoning the rules official gave in that article.

 

"[The club] cannot be assembled on the golf course. His caddie was told that when he asked one of our officials. So he left it there on the tee, and the walking scorer picked it up and took it on the golf course, and Harold and the caddie were aware of this. So when they brought the head out and assembled it out there, it broke Rule 4. Can't do that. They don't want clubs assembled and adjusted on the golf course. So that's the reason for that rule. The rule basically says a player must not build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round. They were aware of that situation, so that's why he received a two-stroke penalty."

 

At no point in that article does the official say that the penalty was because the scorer was carrying the shaft around the course.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

 

 

Ignore the Augusta cell phone policy etc as this example will work with any tournament.

Not unless he tried to use it.

 

Ah. Yes. Lol. He would need to use it. But you see where I’m going? If the player didn’t order the carrying. Did the carrying take place ? At least in the “FOR” vein ?

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sawgrass – I agree it is deep in the weeds but. Isn't it a possible scenario that was described in this incident? As in I'm still not sure that this player knew that the shaft was being carried around . Iunderstood initially that he had laid it on the Teebox and that it was picked up by the scorer? All questions not statements if that is now proven incorrect I'm all ears.

 

Can the shaft be carried FOR the player if the player doesn't know it? Honest question. Not trying to be argumentative.

 

I think the answer to TP's and bh's question is Occam's Razor, or, why ELSE would the scorer have been carrying the shaft if not "FOR" the player ? Was he/she going to keep it as a souvenir ? Use it for their own alignment rod ?

 

In the absence of any other explanation the most obvious one is he/she was carrying it "for the player". Whether the player knew it or not.

 

Having said all this couldn't the Tour rescind the penalty ? They did it for McCarthy (before the clarification - or was it in concert with the clarification ?).

 

Heck, even ol' Beannie claimed "Force majeure". :cheesy:

How can you penalize the player because of the "intent" of a non-participant?

Very carefully?

 

But there are legitimate times when this might be done. If a non-participant offers advice to a player, and the player fails to tell them to stop, the player can be held responsible for the non-participant's illegal intention to help.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

I'd say, according to the Rule, only if he USES it.

 

Yes ? Or do you disagree ?

 

 

edited to add - darn it, I shoulda know somebody woulda caught it by the time I saw it. :taunt:

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the artice is correct in Varner knowing the scorer had the shaft, I have no issues with him being penalized. I do have issues with how the rules official explains the situation and what action actually caused the penalty shots.

I read it to say that he knew when he saw them assembled it and that's why the penalty is issued for that hole. Otherwise if he knows the whole time why isn't it a max 4 shot penalty for more than 2 holes ? Or possible DQ ?

 

Why would ANYBODY care what that article says when the TITLE is wrong ?!?!?! :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

I'd say, according to the Rule, only is he USES it.

 

 

Or when the player builds a club with it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

I'd say, according to the Rule, only is he USES it.

 

 

Or when the player builds a club with it.

 

Hard to use a club head without adding a shaft to it ?

 

Would he be in breach if he used it to drink out of ? :D

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That I could buy. But that's not the reasoning or part of the rule given by the officials.

 

That's exactly the reasoning the rules official gave in that article.

 

"[The club] cannot be assembled on the golf course. His caddie was told that when he asked one of our officials. So he left it there on the tee, and the walking scorer picked it up and took it on the golf course, and Harold and the caddie were aware of this. So when they brought the head out and assembled it out there, it broke Rule 4. Can't do that. They don't want clubs assembled and adjusted on the golf course. So that's the reason for that rule. The rule basically says a player must not build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round. They were aware of that situation, so that's why he received a two-stroke penalty."

 

At no point in that article does the official say that the penalty was because the scorer was carrying the shaft around the course.

 

So you’re saying that it’s not the waking scorers fault , it’s theirs ( I’m assuming caddie or agent assembled it ) for putting it together on the course ?

 

I suppose I kind of see that. His out being to break the shaft over someone’s head and throw it away. Lol.

 

So it’s the scorer who errored first. Then the player for hitting a shot ? The official and caddie seem to be in the clear as they had a conversation and that’s why he left it on the tee.

 

Now it boils down to is it inside the spirit of the rule to penalize him for a volunteers interference?

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What I find interesting is that this particular rule is something like 10 years old, going back to the beginning days of adjustable clubheads. I certainly don't remember it ever being violated before, does anyone else?

 

And in reading this, I believe that assembly on the course is acceptable.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player’s locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer’s truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be “carried by anyone for the player during the round ” and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

 

So its the combination of the shaft being carried by the walking scorer, the caddie and HV being aware that the scorer had the shaft, and the eventual assembly and use. But reading this bit, I wonder if the official explained the rule as clearly as he should have.:

Well, he couldn't take that shaft with him on the golf course. [The club] cannot be assembled on the golf course. His caddie was told that when he asked one of our officials. So he left it there on the tee, and the walking scorer picked it up and took it on the golf course, and Harold and the caddie were aware of this.

Its interesting, this rule doesn't specify when the breach occurs. Is it as soon as he puts the "14th club" in his bag, intending to play it when appropriate, or is it only when the club is used? Never mind, 4.1b(1)/4 says the breach occurs when the player makes his next stroke, once the added club is in his possession. That clarifies the official, who said as soon as he assembled it he had breached the rule, or was going to breach the rule if he hit another shot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

I'd say, according to the Rule, only if he USES it.

 

Yes ? Or do you disagree ?

 

 

edited to add - darn it, I shoulda know somebody woulda caught it by the time I saw it. :taunt:

 

I love you bud. But she’s quicker than you and I put together.

TM Brnr mini 11.5 tensie 1k pro blue 60 

TM Sim2 max tour  16.5* GD  ADHD 7 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Ping Glide 4.0  53 59 AWT 2.0 

LAB Mezz Max armlock TPT shaft  78* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What I find interesting is that this particular rule is something like 10 years old, going back to the beginning days of adjustable clubheads. I certainly don't remember it ever being violated before, does anyone else?

 

And in reading this, I believe that assembly on the course is acceptable.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player’s locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer’s truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be “carried by anyone for the player during the round ” and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

 

Ah, yes. That interpretation. So, the rules official is wrong?

 

< edit > It still could be a breach because of the club shaft being carried FOR the player. Methinks the rules official was focusing on the wrong details.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What I find interesting is that this particular rule is something like 10 years old, going back to the beginning days of adjustable clubheads. I certainly don't remember it ever being violated before, does anyone else?

 

And in reading this, I believe that assembly on the course is acceptable.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player’s locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer’s truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be “carried by anyone for the player during the round ” and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

 

Ah, yes. That interpretation. So, the rules official is wrong?

 

< edit > It still could be a breach because of the club shaft being carried FOR the player. Methinks the rules official was focusing on the wrong details.

 

Which circles us back to what Thinking Plus asked, is it carried FOR the player if the player doesn’t know? I would guess technically it still is.

 

Just an unfortunate set of circumstances for him since he thought he was proceeding correctly.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

What I find interesting is that this particular rule is something like 10 years old, going back to the beginning days of adjustable clubheads. I certainly don't remember it ever being violated before, does anyone else?

 

And in reading this, I believe that assembly on the course is acceptable.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player’s locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer’s truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be “carried by anyone for the player during the round ” and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

 

Ah, yes. That interpretation. So, the rules official is wrong?

 

< edit > It still could be a breach because of the club shaft being carried FOR the player. Methinks the rules official was focusing on the wrong details.

 

Which circles us back to what Thinking Plus asked, is it carried FOR the player if the player doesn’t know? I would guess technically it still is.

 

Just an unfortunate set of circumstances for him since he thought he was proceeding correctly.

I agree, it IS unfortunate. We'll never know exactly what was said. If the official said "You can't take the shaft with you", HV might have reasonably concluded that it was OK if someone other than he or his caddie carried the shaft. The official interviewed indicated that HV and the caddie both knew the shaft was being carried by the scorer. I'd hope that if the official noticed the scorer pick up the shaft, he'd have said "You can't carry the shaft along with the group either," but if he official had moved on, he probably wouldn't have noticed. It sounds like one of those things where HV got a correct answer, but not a totally complete answer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

I'd say, according to the Rule, only if he USES it.

 

Yes ? Or do you disagree ?

 

 

edited to add - darn it, I shoulda know somebody woulda caught it by the time I saw it. :taunt:

 

I love you bud. But she's quicker than you and I put together.

 

I've learned aloooooong time ago that females are quicker than males !!! They just LET us think we're smarter. :)

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nsx. Indulge me.

 

 

Say I'm a betting man. ( I'm not ). But let's say yes. And I've bet against Rory to win the grand slam at Augusta this year. Say I decide to arrive with an m5 driver head in my pocket. Wait until the 5th hole and then announce on Twitter that I'm " carrying an extra driver head for Rory ... in case he needs it ". Is Rory in breach ?

 

 

I'd say, according to the Rule, only if he USES it.

 

Yes ? Or do you disagree ?

 

 

edited to add - darn it, I shoulda know somebody woulda caught it by the time I saw it. :taunt:

 

I love you bud. But she's quicker than you and I put together.

 

I've learned aloooooong time ago that females are quicker than males !!! They just LET us think we're smarter. :)

 

I thought it is the other way round. Males are quicker but females only let us make to believe they came first...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2025 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #1
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #2
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #3
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Chandler Phillips - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Scotty Kennon - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Austin Duncan - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Will Chandler - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kevin Roy - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ben Griffin - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Peter Malnati - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ryan Gerard - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Adam Schenk - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kurt Kitayama - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Camilo Villegas - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matti Schmid - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Denny McCarthy's custom Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Swag Golf putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Karl Vilips TM MG5 wedges - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      New Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matt Fitzpatrick's custom Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Thanks
      • 7 replies
    • 2025 3M Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #2
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #3
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #4
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Luke List - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Isaiah Salinda - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Akshay Bhatia - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Kaito Onishi - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Gotterup - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Rickie Fowler - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Seamus Power - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Kirk - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Vince Whaley - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Andrew Putnam - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      David Lipsky - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Thomas Campbell - Minnesota PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Max Herendeen - WITB - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Rickie's custom Joe Powell persimmon driver - 2025 3M Open
      Custom Cameron T-9.5 - 2025 3M Open
      Tom Kim's custom prototype Cameron putter - 2025 3M Open
      New Cameron prototype putters - 2025 3M Open
      Zak Blair's latest Scotty acquisition - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2025 The Open Championship - Discussions and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 The Open Championship - Sunday #1
      2025 The Open Championship – Monday #1
      2025 The Open Championship - Monday #2
      2025 Open Championship – Monday #3
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Cobra's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Srixon's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Scotty Cameron 2025 Open Championship putter covers - 2025 The Open Championship
      TaylorMade's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Shane Lowry - testing a couple of Cameron putters - 2025 The Open Championship
      New Scotty Cameron Phantom Black putters(and new cover & grip) - 2025 The Open Championship
       
       
       




















       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 26 replies
    • 2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Monday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #2
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Adrian Otaegui - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Luke Donald - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Haotong Li - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Callum Hill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Johannes Veerman - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dale Whitnell - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Martin Couvra - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Daniel Hillier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Angel Hidalgo Portillo - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Simon Forsstrom - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      J.H. Lee - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marcel Schneider - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ugo Coussaud - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Todd Clements - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Shaun Norris - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marco Penge - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nicolai Von Dellingshausen - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Hong Taek Kim - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Julien Guerrier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Richie Ramsey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Francesco Laporta - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Aaron Cockerill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Sebastian Soderberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Connor Syme - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jeff Winther - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Woo Young Cho - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Bernd Wiesberger - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Andy Sullivan - WITB 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jacques Kruyswijk - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Pablo Larrazabal - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Thriston Lawrence - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Darius Van Driel - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Grant Forrest - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jordan Gumberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nacho Elvira - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Romain Langasque - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dan Bradbury - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Yannik Paul - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ashun Wu - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Alex Del Rey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made gamer - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made putter (back-up??) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      New TaylorMade P-UDI (Stinger Squadron cover) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Rory's custom Joe Powell (Career Slam) persimmon driver & cover - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Tommy Fleetwood's son Mo's TM putter - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 20 replies
    • 2025 John Deere Classic - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #1
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Carson Young - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Zac Blair - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Anders Albertson - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Jay Giannetto - Iowa PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      John Pak - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Brendan Valdes - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cristobal del Solar - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Dylan Frittelli - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Justin Lowers new Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Bettinardi new Core Carbon putters - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter covers - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 2 replies

×
×
  • Create New...