dtc0207 Posted March 16, 2023 Share Posted March 16, 2023 I did not see it but from my understanding in reading article. He hit drive near OB so he hit provisional. Found ball it is OB, they made him go back and re tee why not play provisional I thought that was the whole point to prevent the walk back and keep pace of play up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hawkeye77 Posted March 16, 2023 Share Posted March 16, 2023 30 minutes ago, dtc0207 said: I did not see it but from my understanding in reading article. He hit drive near OB so he hit provisional. Found ball it is OB, they made him go back and re tee why not play provisional I thought that was the whole point to prevent the walk back and keep pace of play up They just wanted him to brood more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hawkeye77 Posted March 16, 2023 Share Posted March 16, 2023 Somebody writing the article doesn’t know rules. Guessing his original ball was not OB and maybe unplayable? 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schulzmc Posted March 16, 2023 Share Posted March 16, 2023 Quote from the article: “Fitzpatrick started with a birdie at the first hole, but the nightmare at the third started on the tee shot, where his ball headed left and deep into the trees. Fitzpatrick reloaded and hit a beauty. But when he got down there, it turned out a fan located a ball that may have been Fitzpatrick’s. He didn’t want to check it and called a rules official to ask if he had to look at the ball. He was told he had to, and unfortunately it was Fitzpatrick’s ball. It was out of bounds, which meant he could no longer play his provisional and had to do the walk of shame back to the tee and re-tee, hitting three.” Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post davep043 Posted March 16, 2023 Popular Post Share Posted March 16, 2023 I read the same article that @Schulzmc quoted above, and my guess is that the author simply got it wrong. I bet Fitgerald's ball was actually in bounds , which took the Provisional out of play. Faced with the possibility of having a shot form deep in the trees playing Plinko on its way out (that's why he didn't want to identify it), Fitzgerald may have chose to take Unplayable relief, Stroke and Distance, which takes him back to the tee. That's the only possible reason that the Provisional was taken out of play. 10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Colin L Posted March 16, 2023 Share Posted March 16, 2023 15 minutes ago, Schulzmc said: Quote from the article: “Fitzpatrick started with a birdie at the first hole, but the nightmare at the third started on the tee shot, where his ball headed left and deep into the trees. Fitzpatrick reloaded and hit a beauty. But when he got down there, it turned out a fan located a ball that may have been Fitzpatrick’s. He didn’t want to check it and called a rules official to ask if he had to look at the ball. He was told he had to, and unfortunately it was Fitzpatrick’s ball. It was out of bounds, which meant he could no longer play his provisional and had to do the walk of shame back to the tee and re-tee, hitting three.” WHAT?????? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antip Posted March 16, 2023 Share Posted March 16, 2023 If the original ball was OOB, the player was required to proceed with the provisional ball, which would have become ball in play. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jvincent Posted March 17, 2023 Share Posted March 17, 2023 According to the official stroke by stroke summary on the PGA Tour website, @davep043 has it right. 1 Quote Cobra DS-Adapt LS 10.5: Graphite Design Tour AD UB-7S (Backup: Cobra DS-Adapt X 10.5* : Ventus Red TR 7S) Titleist TSR2 4W : Oban Kiyoshi Purple 75-S Mizuno ST MAX 19*: Ventus Blue HB-8S Mizuno ST MAX 22*: Recoil 95 F5 Wilson Staff CB 5-PW : Nippon Modus3 130-S Cleveland RTX Zipcore 50, 54, 58: Nippon Modus3 115 Wedge Meridian Tybee - 34" Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Augster Posted March 17, 2023 Share Posted March 17, 2023 I’m with Dave. The only explanation is that Fitzpatrick thought it was OB, hit a provisional. Didn’t want anyone to look for the first ball, but a spectator found it. The location must have been IN bounds. Because the original ball was found, the provisional is out of play and not available. After Fitzpatrick ID’d his ball in bounds, he must not have had any options besides S&D. Back to the tee he goes. That’s the only explanation for not playing the provisional. His first ball must have been in play. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rogolf Posted March 17, 2023 Share Posted March 17, 2023 Another wonder example of reporters not checking the facts or details before writing. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mkidding Posted March 17, 2023 Share Posted March 17, 2023 According to PGA tour, Shot 1 253 yds to tree outline, 206 yds to hole Provisional hit 237 yds to right fairway, 179 yds to hole Shot 2 Penalty Shot 3 258 yds to water, 154 yds to hole Shot 4 Penalty Drop in right fairway, 168 yds to hole Shot 5 149 yds to right rough, 87 ft 5 in. to hole Shot 6 48 ft 7 in. to right rough, 39 ft 6 in. to hole Shot 7 26 ft 11 in. to green, 12 ft 8 in. to hole Shot 8 Putt 14 ft 7 in., 20 in. to hole Shot 9 In the hole Quote Ai Smoke TD Max 9 + Diamana WB Stealth 2+ 3w + Ventus Blue Callaway UT 2024 Tour Issue 18 + KBS PGH Mizuno 923 Tour 4-P + ProjectX LZ Cleveland RTX 6 50 55 60 + KBS Hi-Rev 2.0 Toulon Design Vista + BGT Tour Stability / Tour Rat + KBS Black Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hawkeye77 Posted March 17, 2023 Share Posted March 17, 2023 2 hours ago, mkidding said: According to PGA tour, Shot 1 253 yds to tree outline, 206 yds to hole Provisional hit 237 yds to right fairway, 179 yds to hole Shot 2 Penalty Shot 3 258 yds to water, 154 yds to hole Shot 4 Penalty Drop in right fairway, 168 yds to hole Shot 5 149 yds to right rough, 87 ft 5 in. to hole Shot 6 48 ft 7 in. to right rough, 39 ft 6 in. to hole Shot 7 26 ft 11 in. to green, 12 ft 8 in. to hole Shot 8 Putt 14 ft 7 in., 20 in. to hole Shot 9 In the hole Already noted and doesn't explain the penalty drop after the provisional. It would be nice if cause of the penalty could be identified, even if only "Penalty - unplayable lie" but maybe the responses, except for adding distance numbers, are pre-programmed - looks like they are and I'd guess having to have a long list of penalty descriptions to choose from might take away from getting the real time info posted in a timely way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oh Hi Carl Posted March 17, 2023 Share Posted March 17, 2023 I read the same article. It's pathetic that the Golfweek writer and editors are so clueless about the rules of the game they cover. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Halebopp Posted March 17, 2023 Share Posted March 17, 2023 46 minutes ago, Oh Hi Carl said: I read the same article. It's pathetic that the Golfweek writer and editors are so clueless about the rules of the game they cover. I always wonder if all the equipment and swing advice in golf magazines and websites is as horrible as their articles about the rules. 🙂 3 Quote Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6 Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP / 60º: RTX ZipCore - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schulzmc Posted March 18, 2023 Share Posted March 18, 2023 From the Golfweek article. This is a much better explanation (emphasis added by me): Fitzpatrick started with a birdie at the first hole, but the nightmare at the third started on the tee shot, where his ball headed left and deep into the trees. Fitzpatrick reloaded and hit a beauty. But when he got down there, it turned out a fan located a ball that may have been Fitzpatrick’s. He didn’t want to check it and called a rules official to ask if he had to look at the ball. He was told he had to, and unfortunately it was Fitzpatrick’s ball. Given that he still had no swing even if he had taken an unplayable lie and he could no longer play his provisional since he found his original ball, he decided his best option was to return to the tee. He made the walk of shame back to the tee and re-teed, hitting three. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oh Hi Carl Posted March 18, 2023 Share Posted March 18, 2023 4 hours ago, Schulzmc said: From the Golfweek article. This is a much better explanation (emphasis added by me): Fitzpatrick started with a birdie at the first hole, but the nightmare at the third started on the tee shot, where his ball headed left and deep into the trees. Fitzpatrick reloaded and hit a beauty. But when he got down there, it turned out a fan located a ball that may have been Fitzpatrick’s. He didn’t want to check it and called a rules official to ask if he had to look at the ball. He was told he had to, and unfortunately it was Fitzpatrick’s ball. Given that he still had no swing even if he had taken an unplayable lie and he could no longer play his provisional since he found his original ball, he decided his best option was to return to the tee. He made the walk of shame back to the tee and re-teed, hitting three. You can choose stroke and distance regardless of where your ball lies, but S&D is also a relief option for unplayable relief, so he may have taken unplayable relief. I didn't see this situation unfold, so he may have explored the two other relief options for an unplayable and then determined that his only decent option was S&D. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schulzmc Posted March 18, 2023 Share Posted March 18, 2023 12 minutes ago, Oh Hi Carl said: You can choose stroke and distance regardless of where your ball lies, but S&D is also a relief option for unplayable relief, so he may have taken unplayable relief. I didn't see this situation unfold, so he may have explored the two other relief options for an unplayable and then determined that his only decent option was S&D. Yeah - that’s what the article says he did. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.